What Is the Fastest Broadband Speed in the UK?
The fastest live home broadband tier we can verify is 10Gbps. But there are now many more multi-gigabit choices below it, from 8.5Gbps and 8Gbps down to a growing group of 2Gbps-plus regional and national providers.
Quick answer
The fastest residential broadband speed currently on sale in the UK is 10Gbps.DIGI UK advertises a 10Gbps symmetrical home package, while B4RN also lists a 10Gbps residential service available on request. That means B4RN should not be presented as the only UK provider at 10Gbps.
Below those are Community Fibre’s new 8.5Gbps London service, EE’s 8Gbps Advanced Full Fibre tier, YouFibre’s You 8000 package with a currently listed 7,000Mbps average, and several 5Gbps services.
The UK multi-gigabit leaders
DIGI UK
10Gbps download and upload. DIGI explicitly describes the package as symmetrical.
B4RN
Current residential package list includes a 10Gbps service, available on request.
Community Fibre
New London XGS-PON service; 8,200Mbps advertised in both directions.
EE
Advanced Full Fibre offers downloads up to 8Gbps in eligible XGS-PON areas.
YouFibre
You 8000 is the package name; current listings put the average at 7,000Mbps.
Sky
Full Fibre 5 Gigafast+ averages 5,000Mbps down and 5,000Mbps up.
Highland Broadband
Ultimate 5000 is advertised at 5,000Mbps upload and download.
LightSpeed
Current 5Gbps package explicitly advertises 5Gbps upload and download.
UK residential broadband providers at 2Gbps or faster
This is the most complete verified list we could build from current provider pages, live package listings and current broadband databases. It is ordered by the fastest residential tier we could verify, not by value, coverage or Wi-Fi performance.
| # | Provider | Fastest residential tier verified | Upload | Important accuracy note | Verification |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1= | DIGI UK | 10Gbps | 10Gbps | Symmetrical DIGI explicitly lists Fibre 10 Gbps with the same download and upload speed. Very limited footprint; postcode check required. | DIGI |
| 1= | B4RN | 10Gbps | Not stated on the current package page | Current package page lists 10Gbps at £150/month plus £360 connection fee, available on request. We do not assume the upload rate where the live package page does not state it. | B4RN |
| 3 | Community Fibre | 8.5Gbps tier 8,200Mbps advertised | 8,200Mbps advertised | Symmetrical First 8.5Gbps London residential line went live in September 2026. Limited to eligible XGS-PON footprint. | ThinkBroadband |
| 4 | EE | Up to 8Gbps download | Provider launch copy does not state an 8Gbps symmetrical rate | Advanced Full Fibre launched in Guildford, Woking and surrounding areas on Openreach XGS-PON. Do not describe it as 8Gbps symmetrical without a package-specific upload figure. | EE |
| 5 | YouFibre | You 8000 7,000Mbps average currently listed | 7,000Mbps listed | Naming trap “You 8000” is the product name; current package databases list 7,000Mbps average down and up. Do not present 8,000Mbps as the average. | ThinkBroadband |
| 6= | Sky | 5,000Mbps average | 5,000Mbps average | Symmetrical Full Fibre 5 Gigafast+ on eligible CityFibre addresses. | Sky |
| 6= | Highland Broadband | 5,000Mbps | 5,000Mbps | Symmetrical Ultimate 5000 is available only within supported Scottish network areas. | Highland Broadband |
| 6= | LightSpeed | 5Gbps | 5Gbps | Symmetrical Current residential 5Gbps package, separate from older 2Gbps listings still visible in some databases. | LightSpeed |
| 9= | LilaConnect | 2.5Gbps | 2.5Gbps | Symmetrical 2.5Gb Pro with Wi-Fi 7, subject to address availability. | LilaConnect |
| 9= | AAISP | 2.5Gbps | 2.5Gbps on XGS-PON | Home::1 CityFibre offers 2.5G/2.5G where CityFibre XGS-PON is available; GPON options differ. | AAISP |
| 9= | IDNet | 2.5Gbps line profile 1.7–2.2Gbps typical download | 2.125–2.425Gbps typical | CityFibre FTTH 2500/2500. IDNet separately states typical rather than simply calling 2.5Gbps an average. | IDNet |
| 9= | Exascale | Up to 2.5Gbps | Multi-gig; package-dependent | Current site markets residential multi-gig full fibre up to 2.5Gbps. | Exascale |
| 9= | Lightning Fibre | Up to 2.5Gbps | 2.5Gbps package is symmetrical | Do not confuse with 10Gbps The site mentions 10,000Mbps-capable equipment/networking, but residential packages currently top out at 2.5Gbps; 10Gbps is business-only. | Lightning Fibre |
| 9= | MTH Networks | 2.5Gbps | 2.5Gbps | Symmetrical 2500/2500 residential options are listed over CityFibre, Freedom Fibre and MS3. | MTH Networks |
| 9= | Fibrewave Broadband | 2.5Gbps | 2.5Gbps | Symmetrical Listed on Open Infra UK’s residential marketplace. | Open Infra marketplace |
| 9= | TravHawk | Up to 2.5Gbps | Depends on wholesale product/address | Residential FTTP reseller serving London and surrounding areas; its site states a 2,500Mbps maximum residential speed. | TravHawk |
| 9= | Rocket Fibre | Up to 2.5Gbps | Up to 2.5Gbps | Symmetrical on XGS-PON Rocket Fibre lists a CityFibre 2.5GB residential package at up to 2.5Gbps download and upload in XGS-PON areas; non-XGS-PON addresses can receive a different profile. | Rocket Fibre |
| 18= | Aquiss | 2,300Mbps average Family Freedom 2500 | 2,300Mbps average | Symmetrical average Product profile name is 2500, while the order page states 2300/2300Mbps average. | Aquiss |
| 18= | Zen Internet | 2,300Mbps | 2,300Mbps on supported altnet variants | Full Fibre Max is currently listed at 2.3Gbps on Freedom Fibre, CityFibre and Trooli; Openreach variants can be slower. | Current package list |
| 18= | Zzoomm | 2,300Mbps | 2,300Mbps | Symmetrical 2.3Gig Full Fibre residential tier. | Current package list |
| 18= | BeFibre | 2,300Mbps | 2,300Mbps | Symmetrical Be2300 is available only in selected multi-gig-ready postcode areas. | BeFibre |
| 18= | Quickline | 2,300Mbps | 2,300Mbps | Symmetrical listing Full Fibre 2300 appears in current package data; availability is regional and address-specific. | ThinkBroadband |
| 18= | toob | 2,300Mbps | 2,300Mbps | Symmetrical home2300 is the current top residential product. | toob |
| 18= | Uptime Allies | 2,300Mbps | 2,300Mbps | Current 12-month Full Fibre product is independently listed at 2300/2300Mbps; first-party public package detail is less readily indexed. | ThinkBroadband |
| 25 | Vodafone | Up to 2.2Gbps | Up to 2.2Gbps | Symmetrical maximum Pro 3 Full Fibre, available only at supported full-fibre addresses. | Vodafone |
| 26= | Connect Fibre | 2,000Mbps | 2,000Mbps | Symmetrical Fibre2000 is the current top residential package. | Connect Fibre |
| 26= | Grain | 2Gbps package 1,900Mbps expected | 1,900Mbps expected | Symmetrical expected speed Grain calls the tier Full Fibre 2000 but currently states an expected 1,900Mbps down and up. | Grain |
| 26= | Virgin Media | 2,000Mbps average | Package/network dependent | Gig2 Full Fibre lists a 2,000Mbps average download. Upload terms vary by network/product and upgrade option, so do not assume every Gig2 line is 2Gbps symmetrical. | Virgin Media |
| 26= | Trooli | 2,000Mbps | 2,000Mbps | Symmetrical Trooli states its full-fibre packages use matching upload and download speeds; current package databases list Trooli Pro 2Gbps. | Trooli |
| 26= | Wildanet | 2Gbps | Up to 2Gbps on Symmetrical 2Gig; 400Mbps on standard 2Gig | Two different 2Gig products Wildanet’s current selector shows both a standard 2Gig tier and a separate Symmetrical 2Gig option at eligible addresses. | Wildanet |
| 26= | Pine Media | 2Gbps | 2Gbps | Symmetrical GIG 2000 is Pine Media’s fastest Sheffield residential plan and is rolling out in selected areas. | Pine Media |
Why there is no single simple “all UK ISPs” number: some smaller resellers expose faster tiers only after a postcode check, and wholesale availability can change by street. The table therefore uses providers for which a 2Gbps+ residential product could be independently verified today. If a provider only talks about a 10Gbps-capable network or business service, it is not counted as a 10Gbps home provider.
Rise Fibre is not counted in the confirmed table. Current comparison feeds surface a 2.3Gbps CityFibre product for some addresses, but Rise Fibre’s own generic website still states speeds up to 1Gbps. Until a clear first-party 2.3Gbps residential product page is publicly verifiable, listing it as a confirmed 2.3Gbps provider would overstate the evidence.
The speed claims that are easiest to get wrong
DIGI changes the 10Gbps answer
B4RN is not alone at the top. DIGI’s live UK broadband page offers Fibre 10 Gbps at 10Gbps download and upload, so the correct headline answer is that the UK’s fastest verified residential tier is 10Gbps from more than one provider.
You 8000 is not a 8,000Mbps average
YouFibre’s package naming can be misleading if copied without context. Current package data lists You 8000 at 7,000Mbps average download and 7,000Mbps upload.
10Gbps-ready does not mean 10Gbps home broadband
Lightning Fibre is a good example: its site references 10Gbps-capable equipment, while its residential package range currently tops out at 2.5Gbps. Its 10Gbps service is promoted for business use.
Where does Community Fibre’s 8.5Gbps service fit?
Community Fibre’s September 2026 launch is still significant because it brought an 8.5Gbps residential tier into London. The first customer was connected in Beckton, Newham, using XGS-PON. The service is reported with an advertised rate of 8,200Mbps down and 8,200Mbps up.
It is therefore faster than the 8Gbps download tier launched by EE and the 5Gbps packages sold by Sky, Highland Broadband and LightSpeed. It is not, however, the outright fastest residential broadband product in the UK because live 10Gbps services already exist.
What is the fastest broadband from a major UK provider?
EE launched Advanced Full Fibre with downloads up to 8Gbps on 31 July 2026, initially in Guildford, Woking and surrounding areas as Openreach began its XGS-PON rollout. EE described itself as the first major UK provider to offer 8Gbps.
That does not make EE the fastest ISP overall: smaller and regional networks can sell higher headline speeds. It is more useful to keep “fastest major provider” and “fastest residential package anywhere in the UK” as separate questions.
Will one device actually get 10Gbps?
Usually not over Wi-Fi. A 10Gbps broadband line describes the connection available to the home, and that capacity can be shared across many devices. To get close to the full rate on one wired computer you would normally need a 10GbE-capable router or ONT path, 10GbE network interface, suitable cabling, sufficiently fast storage and a remote server capable of sending data that quickly.
Connection speed is not the same as Wi-Fi speed. Providers increasingly bundle Wi-Fi 7 routers with multi-gigabit tiers, but walls, distance, interference, client hardware and the number of spatial streams can all reduce the speed seen by one wireless device.
How fast is 10Gbps in practice?
At a perfect 10Gbps line rate, the raw data rate is about 1.25GB per second before protocol overheads and real-world bottlenecks. A 100GB download therefore has a theoretical transfer time of about 80 seconds. At 5Gbps the same calculation is roughly 160 seconds, and at 2Gbps roughly 400 seconds.
Those are mathematical best cases, not promises. Game stores, cloud platforms and other download servers can become the limiting factor long before a 10Gbps fibre connection does.
Sources checked
We prioritised provider pages for current product speeds, then used current package databases where a provider did not expose the relevant tier clearly without an address check.
- DIGI UK — internet packages
- B4RN — current packages
- ThinkBroadband — Community Fibre 8.5Gbps launch
- EE — Advanced Full Fibre 8Gbps launch
- ThinkBroadband — YouFibre You 8000 current speed listing
- Sky — 5 Gigafast+
- Highland Broadband — Ultimate 5000
- LightSpeed — 5Gbps package
- LilaConnect — 2.5Gb Pro
- AAISP — CityFibre residential services
- IDNet — Home Fibre 2500
- Exascale — multi-gig broadband
- Lightning Fibre — residential range
- MTH Networks — CityFibre 2500/2500
- Open Infra UK — Fibrewave 2500/2500
- TravHawk — 2,500Mbps maximum residential speed
- Rocket Fibre — CityFibre 2.5Gbps residential package
- Aquiss — Family Freedom 2500
- toob — home2300
- Vodafone — Pro 3 Broadband
- Connect Fibre — Fibre2000
- Grain — Full Fibre 2000
- Wildanet — current 2Gig choices
- Pine Media — GIG 2000
- Rise Fibre — current first-party speed claim used for exclusion check
- MoneySuperMarket — current Rise Fibre comparison listing
- ThinkBroadband — current UK package database
The bottom line
10Gbps is the fastest live residential broadband tier we can currently verify in the UK. DIGI UK and B4RN both sell 10Gbps home services, although coverage is limited. Below them, Community Fibre reaches 8.5Gbps in eligible London XGS-PON areas, EE offers downloads up to 8Gbps in its new Advanced Full Fibre footprint, and YouFibre’s You 8000 is currently listed at a 7,000Mbps average. The important part is checking the actual advertised or average speed rather than relying on package names or the maximum capability of the fibre network.
Fastest UK broadband FAQs
What is the fastest broadband speed available in the UK?
As of 18 September 2026, the highest live residential broadband tier we could verify is 10Gbps. DIGI UK sells a symmetrical 10Gbps package, while B4RN also lists a 10Gbps residential service available on request.
Who offers 10Gbps home broadband in the UK?
DIGI UK and B4RN. DIGI explicitly advertises 10Gbps download and upload. B4RN lists a 10Gbps service at £150 per month with a £360 connection fee and says it is available on request.
Is Community Fibre’s 8.5Gbps service the fastest in the UK?
No. It is one of the UK’s fastest residential services and the first 8.5Gbps residential connection reported in London, but 10Gbps residential products are already available from DIGI UK and B4RN.
How fast is YouFibre You 8000?
Current package listings state a 7,000Mbps average download speed and a 7,000Mbps upload speed. “You 8000” is the package name, so it should not automatically be written as an 8,000Mbps average-speed service.
Which providers sell 5Gbps home broadband?
Current 5Gbps residential services we verified include Sky Full Fibre 5 Gigafast+, Highland Broadband Ultimate 5000 and LightSpeed’s Full Fibre 5Gbps package. Community Fibre also had a 5Gbps tier before introducing its new 8.5Gbps service.
Does a 10Gbps broadband package mean 10Gbps over Wi-Fi?
No. The package speed describes the broadband connection to the property. Real Wi-Fi speed depends on the router, client device, distance, interference and property layout. A wired 10GbE setup is normally needed to get close to 10Gbps on a single device.